If you have finally decided to give up on Spotify, you can consider deleting your account instead of just letting it age. Doing that will clear all its data, and you won’t be able to restore it again. If you still want to delete your Spotify account, this post is specifically written for you.
Here, I will share a very simple step-wise guide on deleting a Spotify account. Along with this, I will also share the consequences as well as the alternatives that you’ll have to avoid this step.
What happens when you Delete a Spotify Account?
Spotify is a top-tier music streaming service that comes with free and premium plans. It grants you access to over 50 million songs and is the perfect music app for every device. Regardless of its greatness, users often find enough reasons to end their relationship with Spotify.
There can be various reasons for this like switching to Spotify alternatives, giving up on paid music, or anything else. I wouldn’t ask your reason but just guide you to whatever you wish. But, before that, let’s take a look at what happens when you delete a Spotify account. This might help you to reconsider your decision.
When you delete a Spotify account–
- You will lose access to all your data and saved music including albums and playlists.
- You will not be able to access your followers ever again.
- If you have signed up for a Spotify student discount, then you will not be able to sign up for it again for a year.
- You will never be able to use your current username on Spotify.
- You can create a new account with the same email address after closing your account.
If you are fine with these, you can proceed to close your Spotify account.
Will I ever be able to get back a deleted Spotify account?
After you close your Spotify account, you will have 7 days to re-activate it and get it back. But, if you don’t re-activate it for seven days, Spotify will delete it permanently. After that, you can never get back your Spotify account.
You will have to create a new Spotify account and start everything from the scratch. You can still use the same email address from your previous account to sign up, but you will have to opt for a different username.
Step-wise Guide to Delete your Spotify Account
Now that you have decided to delete or close your Spotify account, here are the steps you have to follow in order to do that. Remember that you can’t delete your account from the Spotify mobile or PC app. You will have to open a web browser and visit Spotify’s official website for that. Once ready, follow these steps:
Step-1: Open a browser, and visit Spotify’s Customer Support page to delete your account. You will be asked to log in to your account, enter your account details and sign in to proceed.
Step-2: On the Customer Support page, click on the ‘Account’ option.
Step-3: Now click on the ‘I want to close my account’ option on the next page.
Step-4: On the next page, you will be given two choices- Keep a free account and Close account. Click on ‘Close account’ here.
Step-5: Next, confirm your selection by clicking on ‘Close Account.’
Step-6: Next, Spotify will ask you to confirm your account details. Go through the details, make sure you are deleting the right account, and then click on ‘Continue.’
Step-7: Spotify will then tell you what happens after you delete your account (I have already explained that above). Check the ‘I understand’ box, and click on ‘Continue.’
Step-8: You will receive an email from Spotify having a link to close the account. Check your inbox, open the email, and click on the ‘Close My Account’ button present in the email.
Step-9: A new tab will open where you will see a confirmation stating that your account is now closed so you won’t be able to log in anymore.
That’s it. This is how you delete/close your Spotify account without any issues.
How to Reactivate a Deleted/Closed Spotify Account?
When you delete your Spotify account, you will receive an email from Spotify saying “This is our last goodbye” and having the ‘Reactivate my account‘ link. If you change your mind in a span of seven days after closing the account, you can click on this link and get your account back.
After this duration, you will never be able to recover your deleted Spotify account. This is how you reactivate a deleted Spotify account.
Don’t Want to Delete your Spotify Account? Cancel the Subscription Instead
If you are cutting ties with Spotify only because of high subscription charges, you can consider switching to the free plan. By canceling your Spotify Premium subscription, you can save money while also saving your account data, playlists, and saved music. Follow these steps to learn doing that:
Step-1: Open a browser, visit Spotify’s website in it, and log in to your account.
Step-2: Now click on your name present in the upper right section of the screen, and then click on ‘Account.’
Step-3: On the account page, click on ‘Subscription’ from the left panel.
Step-4: On the subscription page, click on the ‘Cancel your subscription’ link.
Step-5: A new page will open where Spotify will ask you the reason for cancelation. Choose any valid reason here, and then click on ‘Continue.’ Then, click on the ‘Cancel My Subscription’ button on the next page.
Step-6: Finally, enter your password, and click on the ‘Cancel My Subscription’ link.
That’s it. This is how you can cancel Spotify Premium, instead of closing the account.
Does Spotify allow you to Pause your Subscription?
No. As of now, Spotify offers no option to pause your subscription or put your account on hold. If you want to temporarily stop your Spotify Premium plan, you can cancel your subscription, and then get it back again whenever you want.
This way, you will not lose any saved music, playlists, or other data, and will also save your money.
Whenever you want to stop using Spotify, you can delete your account. This is how you can do that. However, I will strongly recommend thinking one more time before doing that. You can also cancel your subscription if you are just frustrated with the high prices charged by Spotify.
That’s all for this post. I hope it helps you enough. Feel free to share your experiences with Spotify using the comment box.